Services

Le commerce international des services est une mine d’or. Elle concerne 50 à 75 pour cent de toute l’activité économique des pays riches et pauvres. Il s’agit d’un marché lucratif que les entreprises transnationales de la planète veulent contrôler. Elles veulent que les services soient traités comme de pures commodités destinées à être vendues et achetés dans un marché concurentiel.

Les services ont été décrits comme étant tout ce qu’il est impossible de tenir entre ses mains, incluant les banques, l’éducation, l’énergie, la santé, l’eau, la collecte des ordures, les bibliothèques, les chemins de fer, les compagnies aériennes, le tourisme, la télévision et la radio.

En vertu de l’Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l’OMC et des dispositions sur les services incluses dans les accords bilatéraux et régionaux de libre-échange, les gouvernements ont accepté d’ouvrir l’économie à des fournisseurs étrangers de certains services. Ces fournisseurs de services doivent se voir accorder un traitement au moins égal à celui accordé aux fournisseurs locaux. Les gouvernements ne peuvent limiter le nombre de fournisseurs de services à l’œuvre sur son marché ou imposer quelconques exigences en matière de contenu local.

Le libre-échange dans le domaine des services menace de restreindre la capacité d’un gouvernement à assurer l’accès à des services essentiels abordables et adéquats à tous ses citoyens, en éliminant toutes les restrictions ou règlements gouvernementaux dans le domaine de la prestation de services, qui sont considérés comme « des barrières au commerce ». Parmi ces restrictions, on compte celles ayant des objectifs environnementaux, sociaux ou communautaires.

Les dispositions sur la libéralisation des services dans les accords bilatéraux de libre-échange vont souvent plus loin que les engagements pris par les gouvernements dans le cadre de l’AGCS. Par exemple, alors que l’Australie a exclu les services reliés à l’eau de son offre d’AGCS, ces derniers sont inclus dans son accord de libre-échange avec les États-Unis, livrant ainsi ses ressources en eau et les services qui y sont reliés aux transnationales états-uniennes.

dernière mise à jour : mai 2012


Voir plus

Voir moins


    Liens

  • Coalition of Service Industries
    CSI is the leading US business organization dedicated to the reduction of barriers to US services exports, and to the development of constructive domestic US policies, including tax policies, that enhance the global competitiveness of its members. Website covers bilateral FTAs.
  • ESF
    The European Services Forum (ESF) is a network of representatives from the European services sector. We are committed to actively promoting the interests of the European services sector and the liberalisation of services markets throughout the world in connection with the GATS negotiations.

Search:

bilaterals.org > Key issues > Services
publish
quick search




 Services
The international trade in services is big business, comprising between half and three quarters of all economic activity in richer and poorer countries. This is a lucrative market which the world’s transnational corporations want to control. They want services to be treated purely as commodities to be bought and sold in a competitive market.

Services have been described as anything that you cannot drop on your foot, including banks, education, energy, healthcare, water, rubbish collection, libraries, railways, airlines, tourism, TV and radio.

Under the WTO’s GATS (General Agreement on Trade in Services), and the services provisions in bilateral and regional free trade agreements, governments agree to open the economy to foreign suppliers of certain services. In those services, foreign suppliers must be given at least as favourable treatment as it gives to local suppliers. Governments cannot set limits on the numbers of service suppliers operating in its market or impose requirements for local content.

Free trade in services threatens to restrict a government’s ability to ensure access to affordable, adequate basic services for all its citizens by removing any restrictions and internal government regulations in the area of service delivery considered to be "barriers to trade". These include measures which pursue environmental, social or community objectives.

Services liberalization provisions of bilateral FTAs often go further than governments’ GATS commitments. For example, while Australia excluded water ‘services’ from its GATS offer, this is included under its FTA with the USA, opening up Australia’s water resources and utilities to US-based TNCs.

last update: May 2012

TTIP debate - Brussels | 19-Apr-2014

more...