logo logo


Algerian president counters Morocco’s Sahel offer with free trade zones
In a move seen as a response to Morocco’s initiative facilitating Atlantic access for Sahel states, Algerian President announced plans for free trade zones with both Niger and Mali. This announcement comes amidst Algeria’s efforts to maintain its influence in the region.
The USA’s removal of Uganda, Niger, Gabon and the Central Africa Republic from the AGOA has only a limited impact
The USA’s removal of Uganda, Niger, Gabon and the Central African Republic from the AGOA has only a limited impact.
US formally removes Uganda from AGOA
The United States has officially struck off Uganda and three other African countries as beneficiaries of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), effectively ending Kampala’s ability to export certain commodities to the US duty-free.
Biden administration to remove four African nations from AGOA
In a significant policy shift, the Biden administration has announced the removal of Niger, Gabon, the Central African Republic (CAR), and Uganda from the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) effective January 2024.
Uganda denounces US plan to exclude it from duty-free trade programme
Uganda on Wednesday criticised a U.S. move to eject it and other African countries from accessing a tariff-free trade programme, saying the action was to punish African countries that are resisting the imposition of the West’s cultural values.
Africa Business Forum: US., Benin, Niger sign $504 million Regional Investment
WASHINGTON (Dec. 14, 2022) — The Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC) took center stage at today’s U.S.-Africa Business Forum as the United States, Benin, and Niger governments signed the first-ever MCC regional program — the $504 million Benin-Niger Regional Transport Compact.
West Africa: Traders reject EPA
The National Association of Nigerian Traders have voiced concerns over what it calls inflexibility on the part of the European Union in the ongoing negotiations between it and the Economic Community of West Africa States over the Economic Partnership Agreement.