logo logo

Japan FTAs

Japan concluded its first bilateral free trade agreement in 2000 with Singapore. In March 2004, it finalised discussions on an FTA with Mexico. This was followed by deals signed with Malaysia (2004), Philippines (2006), Indonesia (2007), Chile (2007), Thailand (2007), Brunei (2007), ASEAN as a whole (2008), Vietnam (2008), Switzerland (2009), India (2011) and Peru (2011).

Japan’s FTAs are dubbed Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs), but amount to the same.

last update: May 2012

Japan-Mongolia FTA (2015)
Japan-India FTA (2011)
India-Japan EPA (2010) Consultation draft on IPR chapter
The ’leaked’ text of the Preliminary Consultation Draft on IPR Chapter of India-Japan EPA as in April 2010 at the time of the 13th round of negotiations
Japan-ASEAN FTA (2008)
Japan-Indonesia FTA (2007)
Japan-Brunei FTA (2007)
Japan-Chile FTA (2007)