logo logo

Japan FTAs

Japan concluded its first bilateral free trade agreement in 2000 with Singapore. In March 2004, it finalised discussions on an FTA with Mexico. This was followed by deals signed with Malaysia (2004), Philippines (2006), Indonesia (2007), Chile (2007), Thailand (2007), Brunei (2007), ASEAN as a whole (2008), Vietnam (2008), Switzerland (2009), India (2011) and Peru (2011).

Japan’s FTAs are dubbed Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs), but amount to the same.

last update: May 2012

Japan-Philippines Economic Partnership Agreement (draft, 2003)
Working draft of the agreement as of 21 April 2003
Japan-Mexico FTA (2004)