bilaterals.org logo
bilaterals.org logo

Royaume-Uni

Le vote du Royaume-Uni pour quitter l’Union européenne (UE) ouvre la possibilité sur la négociation de dizaines d’accords commerciaux nocifs, avec des effets d’une portée considérable dans le monde entier.

La volonté d’avoir une politique commerciale indépendante a été un facteur clé de motivation pour les principaux partisans d’une sortie de l’UE. Grâce à cette politique commerciale, les groupes de réflexion et les politiciens de droite espèrent rapprocher l’économie britannique du modèle américain de déréglementation et de libéralisation, et s’éloigner de ce qu’ils considèrent comme le protectionnisme sur-réglementé de l’Union européenne. Qui plus est, ils espèrent commercer beaucoup plus avec les économies émergentes et en développement, en s’appuyant sur ce qu’ils considèrent comme la glorieuse histoire du libre-échange mondial du Royaume-Uni.

Ces accords commerciaux pourraient avoir de graves répercussions sur les services publics et les normes alimentaires britanniques, et menacer de faire du Royaume-Uni une économie encore plus dépendante de la finance, profondément centralisée et inégale – ironiquement, ce sont les conditions mêmes qui ont donné naissance à Brexit. Mais l’impact à l’échelle mondiale pourrait être encore plus grave, car le gouvernement britannique menace de se lancer dans une bataille en faveur des grandes entreprises, en utilisant la propriété intellectuelle, le commerce électronique, la protection des investisseurs et les règles d’approvisionnement pour éliminer les normes et réglementations que les pays en développement utilisent pour protéger leurs populations, leur environnement, et leur droit au développement économique.

Le nouveau système britannique de négociation et de ratification des accords commerciaux est profondément antidémocratique, le public n’ayant aucun droit à l’information et les parlementaires n’étant pas en mesure d’examiner de près un accord commercial. La lutte pour une responsabilité et une transparence de base doit donc aller de pair avec des tentatives visant à mettre fin à des accords commerciaux dangereux.

Le Royaume-Uni est aujourd’hui un pays profondément polarisé, où rien n’est acquis. Les relations du Royaume-Uni avec l’UE n’étant pas résolues, il est difficile de savoir quels domaines du commerce le Royaume-Uni sera en mesure de négocier. Les plus ardents partisans du libre-échange ont tendance à favoriser un Brexit "sans accord", laissant le Royaume-Uni libre de conclure les pactes de libre-échange, les plus extrêmes possibles. D’autre part, l’aspect positif de ce processus est qu’il a ravivé l’intérêt pour le commerce et qu’il nous donne l’occasion d’informer le public qu’un accord commercial moderne va bien au-delà des droits de douane et des contingents. Des moyens totalement nouveaux de "faire du commerce" sont discutés et proposés au sein des partis politiques, d’une manière inconnue depuis de nombreuses années.

Le Royaume-Uni cherche à reconduire plus de 40 accords commerciaux signés entre l’UE et des pays tiers, dont la Corée du Sud, le Japon, le Canada, les Caraïbes, l’Amérique centrale, l’Afrique orientale et australe. De nouveaux accords commerciaux avec l’Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande et les États-Unis ont également été identifiés comme prioritaires.

Contribution de Nick Dearden, Global Justice Now

dernière mise à jour : août 2019


Brexit : quel libre-échange veut Theresa May ?
Le "hard Brexit" de la première ministre britannique ne se fonde pas sur le protectionnisme, mais un libre-échange généralisé et "raisonné". Une stratégie qui ne sera pas sans risque.
Accord GB-USA : Moscovici doute d’une conclusion rapide
Le Commissaire européen aux Affaires économiques s’est montré lundi dubitatif sur la possibilité pour le Royaume-Uni et les Etats-Unis de conclure "rapidement" un accord de libre-échange.

bilaterals.org logo
bilaterals.org logo

United Kingdom

Britain’s vote to leave the EU opens up the possibility of dozens of dangerous trade deals being negotiated with far-reaching effects across the world.

The desire to have an independent trade policy was a key motivating factor for leading proponents of leaving the EU. Through this trade policy, right-wing think tanks and politicians hope to move the British economy closer to the US model of deregulation and liberalisation, and away from what they see as the over regulated protectionism of the European Union. What’s more, they hope to trade far more with emerging and developing economies, building on what they see as Britain’s glorious history of global free trade.

These trade deals could have a serious impact on Britain’s public services and food standards, and threaten to make Britain an even more finance-dependent economy, deeply centralised and unequal – ironically the very conditions that gave rise to Brexit. But the impact globally could be even more serious, as the British government threatens to go into bat for big corporations, using intellectual property, e-commerce, investor protection and procurement rules to rip away standards and regulations that developing countries employ to protect their people, their environment and their right to economic development.

Britain’s new system for negotiating and ratifying trade deals is deeply undemocratic, with the public having no right to information, and members of parliament unable to properly scrutinise, nevermind stop, a trade deal. So the struggle for basic accountability and transparency is one that must go hand-in-hand with attempts to stop dangerous trade deals.

Britain is now a deeply polarised country, where nothing is certain. With Britain’s relationship with the EU unresolved, it is difficult to even know which areas of trade Britain will be able to negotiate. The most ardent free traders tend to favour a ‘no-deal’ Brexit, leaving Britain free to pursue the most extreme free market pacts possible. On the other side, the positive opportunity presented by the current moment is that it has reawakened interest in trade and presents an opportunity to inform the public that a modern trade deal extends well beyond tariffs and quotas. Completely new ways of ‘doing trade’ are being discussed and proposed within political parties in a way not known for many years.

Britain has been seeking to roll over 40 trade deals signed between the EU and third countries, including South Korea, Japan, Canada, Carribbean states, Central America, East and Southern African states. New trade deals with Australia, New Zealand and the US have also been identified as priorities.

Contributed by Nick Dearden, Global Justice Now (last update: August 2019)

Photo: Global Justice Now


Day of action against the US trade deal
Saturday 24 October: Take action against the US trade deal to protect services, standards, rights and democracy!
EU, UK to step up Brexit talks to try to close ’significant gaps’ over trade deal
British Prime Minister Boris Johnson and the head of the EU’s executive, Ursula von der Leyen, agreed to step up Brexit talks to close “significant gaps” barring a new trade partnership.
EU launches legal action against UK for breaching Brexit deal and international law
The backdrop to all of this is that trade talks between London and Brussels are entering their final phase.
UK and EU pharma call for medicines to be prioritised in Brexit trade talks
They have both emphasised the need for trade talks to mitigate medicine supply chain disruptions following Brexit.
EU negotiators willing to work on legal agreement with UK - The Times
European Union negotiators have signaled that they are willing to begin work on a joint legal text of a trade agreement with the UK.
Brexit trade deal: So near and yet so far
The key sticking points in trade talks remain stubbornly the same: fishing rights, competition regulations and the governance of any eventual agreement.
Liz Truss hails ‘productive’ fourth round of UK-US trade talks
British trade secretary said the UK and US had made “significant” progress in reaching a trade deal after wrapping up a “productive” fourth round of talks.
Business groups warn ’clock is ticking’ for Canada-UK trade deal
According to Canadian International Trade Minister’s office, officials now are working toward a "transitional agreement" to minimize disruptions for businesses and workers.
We must defeat the US trade deal
Food standards, the price of medicine and climate action are on the slab in the biggest assault on Britain’s sovereignty in modern history.
Biden and Pelosi warn UK over risking Good Friday agreement
Leading Democrats warned that the UK’s chances of securing the required congressional support for a UK-US free trade deal will disappear if Northern Ireland peace deal is undermined.