logo logo

Malaysian Parliament approves TPP agreement

The Nation | 27 January 2016

Malaysian Parliament approves TPP agreement

Kuala Lumpur - The Malaysian Parliament on Wednesday approved the country’s participation in the 12-nation Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement, a senior official said.

There were 127 votes in favour of the agreement, while 84 voted against, according to International Trade and Industry Ministry Mustapa Mohamed.

Mohamed said the Senate was expected to ratify the agreement on Thursday, paving the way for Malaysia’s participation in the trade pact.

The US-led trade deal is aimed at spurring trade in the Pacific region.

Signatories include Brunei, Chile, New Zealand, Singapore, Australia, Canada, Malaysia, Japan, Mexico, Peru, the United States and Vietnam.

The deal is expected to be signed next month in New Zealand.

 source: The Nation