logo logo


The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation, or BIMSTEC, groups together Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand. The seven-country forum aims to achieve its own free trade area by 2017.

last update: May 2012
Photo: Palácio do Planalto/CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

BIMSTEC nears completion of Free Trade Agreement, says secretary general
Free Trade Agreement among the BIMSTEC countries is at the final stage of formulation, the secretary general Tenzin Lekphell said.
BIMSTEC leaders pledge to make a ‘peaceful, prosperous’ Bay region
Leaders of the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation or BIMSTEC have promised to make a “peaceful and prosperous” Bay of Bengal region on the 22 years of inception of this grouping of seven countries.
SAARC has problems, BIMSTEC full of energy, says Jaishankar
Newly appointed external affairs minister S Jaishankar on Thursday rued the fact that South Asia is among the least inter-connected regions in the world, but efforts are being made to make the region more integrated. Referring to BIMSTEC, which connects South Asia with Southeast Asia, Jaishankar said that India has strong synergy with other BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) states.
India’s focus shift from SAARC to BIMSTEC is strategic, but underused
While India has tactfully used the platform to diplomatically isolate Pakistan, it must also tap into BIMSTEC’s immense potential for development, connectivity and trade in the region.
Bimstec representatives call for conclusion of FTA talks
The Bimstec member nations include Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal. The summit is scheduled to be held in Kathmandu on August 30-31, 2018.
BIMSTEC calls for expeditious negotiations on free trade agreement
The seven-nation bloc BIMSTEC today called for specific steps and greater political commitment to conclude negotiations expeditiously for a free trade agreement.
BIMSTEC underlines early finalisation of free trade area accord
The 18th session of Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) Senior Officials’ meeting has underlined the need of early finalisation of BIMSTEC free trade area agreement.
15th BIMSTEC ministerial meeting in Kathmandu on Aug 11
The 15th BIMSTEC ministerial meeting is going be held in Kathmandu on 11 August.
India-Thailand difference delaying FTA under BIMSTEC
Difference between India and Thailand over market access is one of the main reasons why the FTA under BIMSTEC remained stalled during last couple of years.
India must work closely with BIMSTEC on trade push: Assocham
India should work closely with BIMSTEC, a seven-nation grouping, to conclude trade negotiations and attempt early operationalising of the Bay of Bengal free trade agreement to give a big push to trade in the region, industry body Assocham said.


    Bangladesh-India-Myanmar-Sri Lanka-Thailand Economic Cooperation (also includes Nepal and Bhutan)