logo logo


Canada has signed free trade agreements with the US, the US-and-Mexico (NAFTA), Costa Rica, Chile, Israel, Colombia, Peru and EFTA. It has also concluded talks with Jordan.

The government has also signed an Economic Framework Agreement with Japan and about 25 bilateral investment treaties.

Ottawa is currently in bilateral trade deal talks, or in the process of considering them, with Korea, Singapore, India, the so-called "Central America Four" (El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua), the Dominican Republic, the Andean Community, CARICOM, Morocco and the EU (CETA).

last update: May 2012

Photo: Creative Commons CC0

Canada has recently started bilateral investment treaty negotiations with Tanzania, Mongolia, Madagascar, Indonesia and Vietnam
Canada is becoming more engaged in international treaty negotiation and has recently announced that: Canada and Tanzania; Canada and Mongolia; Canada and Madagascar; Canada and Indonesia; and Canada and Vietnam have agreed to begin negotiations towards a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA).
Rowley: Trade agreement with Canada next
A trade agreement with Canada is the next item on the agenda for the Caribbean Community (Caricom).
Jean Charest disturbed by U.S. talk of reopening free-trade deal
Premier Jean Charest is using talk of reopening the North American free-trade deal to help his efforts to get a free-trade accord between Canada and the European Union.
Canada, Jordan start free trade talks
Canada and Jordan on Wednesday officially launched negotiations toward a free trade agreement (FTA) that could boost ag trade between the two countries.
Commons debate on free trade urged
Canada’s shipbuilding industry wants the federal government to hold true to its word and bring free-trade deals to the House for debate and a vote before they are ratified.
Canada signs free trade deal with EFTA
Canada said it signed its first free trade pact with European countries Saturday, clearing the way for it to boost its commerce there by ties with Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.
Canada and EFTA Countries Sign Free Trade Agreement
On January 26, 2008, Canada announced that Minister of International Trade and the Leaders of the EFTA Countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland) signed a free trade agreement in Davos, Switzerland on January 26, 2008.
Canada and Peru conclude negotiations of a Free Trade Agreement
On January 26, 2008, Canada announced that Canada had concluded its negotiations of a free trade agreement with Peru. The Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA) follows the Canada-Peru bilateral investment treaty (called a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA)) on June 20, 2007. The CPFTA is Canada’s sixth free trade agreement (after the North American Free Trade Agreement, Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement, Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement, Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement and Canada-EFTA Free Trade Agreement)
CARICOM/Canada trade talks start next month
The first full round of negotiations on a Canada/ CARICOM Free Trade Agreement is scheduled to get started next month.
Impacting unimpaired
Both TILMA and the SPP have specific aims that go beyond the usual attempt to enshrine investors’ rights and protect corporations from government regulations. Both agreements pave the way for the largest industrial project in history to move forward: a project that calls for the extraction of over 170 billion barrels of recoverable oil from the tar sands of Alberta’s Athabasca, Peace and Cold Lake regions.


  • Canada’s BITs and FTAs
    Canada’s bilateral investment treaties (Foreign Investment Protection and Promotions Acts) and free trade agreements
  • CUPE
    Canadian Union of Public Employees’s trade webpage
  • RQIC
    Le Réseau Québécois sur l’Intégration Continentale fait campagne contre les accords de libre-échange