logo logo


The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) is an economic union of former Soviet Union member states. It is comprised of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia. The treaty establishing the EAEU was signed on 29 May 2014 by Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus, and came into force on 1 January 2015. Armenia and Kyrgyzstan accessed the Union on 2 January 2015 and 6 August 2015, respectively.

The EAEU was set up to challenge the economic influence of the US and the European Union, and to counter the two super powers’ attempts to isolate Russia.

The EAEU provides for free movement of goods, services, capital and labour. Member states have a common trade policy regime regarding third countries.

The EAEU has been very active negotiating trade deals.

It has two free trade agreements in force with Vietnam (2016) and Iran (interim FTA, 2019), as well as an agreement on economic and trade cooperation with China (2019).

It has signed FTAs with Serbia (2019) and Singapore (2019).

It has been discussing trade deals with Cambodia, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Israel, Korea, Mercosur and Peru.

Potential negotiations with ASEAN, Bangladesh, Brazil, the Gulf Cooperation Council, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, New Zealand and Thailand could also emerge further down the line.

In addition, the EAEU has a free trade area with Moldova, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan, as part of the Commonwealth of Independent States Free Trade Area, which was established in 2012. On 1 January 2016, Russia suspended the agreement with Ukraine, following the provisional application of the European Union-Ukraine trade deal.

Last update: March 2020

Photo: German Marshall Fund of the United States

EAEU, Mongolia expect to complete preparation of temporary free trade agreement
The countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and Mongolia intend to complete the preparation of a temporary agreement on setting up a free trade zone by the end of 2024, the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) said following consultations with Mongolian representatives earlier this week.
Russia offers talks on free trade zone creation to Algeria — Minister
Russia has offered talks on the creation of a free trade zone to Algeria, Russia’s Economic Development Minister Maksim Reshetnikov said.
Iran-EAEU FTA agreement expected to be communicated next year
It is expected that the Free Trade Agreement inked between Iran and the Eurasian Economic Union member states on December 25, 2023, will be communicated by the Iranian parliament within the next six months, an official said.
Egypt nears completion of free trade agreement with Eurasian Economic Union
In a significant stride towards economic integration, Egypt is nearing final negotiations to establish a free trade zone with the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).
Iran, EEU sign historic free trade agreement
Iran signed a groundbreaking free trade agreement with the Russia-led Eurasian Economic Union on December 25. The signing ceremony, held in St. Petersburg, marked the culmination of over two years of negotiations and expert deliberations.
Armenia government approves EAEU-Iran free trade agreement
At its Cabinet meeting, the Armenian government approved the signing of the agreement on free trade between the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and Iran.
Iran-EAEU to ink FTA in St. Petersburg on December 25
Iran’s deputy foreign minister for economic diplomacy said that a Free Trade Agreement between Iran and the Eurasian Economic Union’s member states will be signed on December 25, 2023.
Putin says EAEU, Iran to sign agreement to create free trade zone
Signing of deal planned for late December, says Russian president.
Iran, EAEU member states to launch FTA in 2024: TPOI
Iran deputy head of the Trade Promotion Organization for international affairs said a Free Trade Agreement between Iran and the Eurasian Economic Union’s member states will come into effect in the next Iranian year.
Russia is in talks to establish free zone in Egypt: Putin
Russian President Vladimir Putin on Wednesday announced at the plenary session of the Eurasian Economic Forum that Russia is in talks on establishing a free zone in Egypt.